24 things I learned being 24.

Chhavi Shrivastava
4 min readApr 2, 2020

I learned that..

My official, being 24, portrait.
  1. I am a plant.
    A little sunlight, lots of water, and the smell of the damp forest floor after last night’s rain, is almost all that I need.
  2. More of what I need? Patience and gratitude. It was my mantra for the year.
  3. The year where I had set two major ridiculous ambitious goals for myself. I started the year thinking there is no way I can do it. One done, one half-done. Nothing is i̶m̶p̶o̶s̶s̶i̶b̶l̶e̶ undoable, if we just set our minds to it.
  4. About the other half-done goal, it’s alright. Trust the timing of things that happen. More than your calendar, your to-do lists, or your Kanban board on Notion.

5. Also trust your instincts. Be slightly less scared, and be slightly more daring.

6. Dare to unlearn things you’ve learned from your society and culture. Education is as much about the ability to unlearn, as much about the ability to learn.

7. Learn everything. Just YouTube it out. Last week I learned how to open a wine bottle, how to use a coffee machine, how to choose a foundation for my skin tone, how to start a newsletter, how to read graphs…

8. ..because it’s never too late. Never too late to learn stuff you should have learned in college maybe, never too late to start investing in your health, or to Google — WTF is OG?

9. Never too late to apply for that job you think you would never get. Not too early to apply for that talk. Don’t self-reject yourself out from stuff.

10. Accept and probe views that contradict you and your mental models. Once you find a piece of wisdom, act on it. No use of it otherwise. Like I cut down my meat consumption, and am (almost-ish) a vegetarian.

11. Stop scrolling THAT feed, when you know you should. You always know when you should.

12. Never underestimate what a 30 mins walk can do for you. Or the motivation your workout clothes bring.

13. Never overestimate how hard that conversation will be. Most of the conversations are harder in your head, than they are in person.

14. Climb that positivity hill. I built myself a postivity hill this year in my head. It represents excitement, humbleness and grate-fullness.

Whenever I am in the rumble, I remind myself to start climbing it. Switch from being nervous and anxious, to being excited, and grateful.

15. Or just sleep. Don’t try and fix your life — or a person, after 11 PM. Sleep fixes most of it for you while you sleep.

16. Do fix yourself a good meal though. Being able to cook what you like, exactly how you like it, while in any part of the world, is really fulfilling.

17. Replicate parts of your life as fast as possible when you move to a foreign land. Find that yoga studio, find that place to buy Maggi in bulk, hand those fairy lights, and..

18. ..buy fresh flowers for your room, for your soul.

19. We are more together in this, than we realize we are.
(I wrote this before #CoronaDays)

20. Find people that match your energy. It’s a thing.

21. Also find that muesli you like. It has the power to cheer you up in the mornings.

22. Share the authentic you, online and offline. Never post on Instagram for social validation, especially when you are feeling down in the dump.

23. Hold the fort. It’s alright letting only very few know — about your love life, your next move, or your incomplete second goal.

24. Post that blog. Even if it’s been two months since your birthday. Post IT.

--

--

Chhavi Shrivastava

Writing relatable, non-fluffy stories on being a product designer. Senior designer @Bumble 🐝 Sharing behind-the-scenes at www.instagram.com/justchhavii/